A strange mix of coaching decisions and officiating rules unfolded early in the Detroit Lions’ game against the Los Angeles Rams. In the opening quarter, the Rams completed a 23-yard pass that was ruled down at the Lions’ 3-yard line. Immediately afterward, Lions head coach Dan Campbell tossed a challenge flag.
At first, the decision was confusing. Nothing about the play appeared obviously reviewable, and even the FOX broadcast crew struggled to identify what Campbell might have been contesting. Clarity came once the officials addressed the crowd. They explained that Detroit was attempting to challenge the placement of the football—but league rules do not allow that type of review in this situation. As a result, the Lions were charged a timeout.
“The spot of the previous play is not reviewable. Detroit will be charged their first timeout,” the referee announced.
After the game, Campbell confirmed that the spot of the ball was exactly what he was disputing.
“They told me I couldn’t challenge it because it wasn’t a line-to-gain play,” Campbell said.
So what actually happened?l
What the Lions Were Trying to Fix
Rams tight end Colby Parkinson made the reception and was marked down at the 3-yard line. However, replays showed his knee touching the ground closer to the 5-yard line, with the ball appearing to be around the 4. From Detroit’s perspective, the spot was too generous.
Naturally, that raised the question: aren’t teams allowed to challenge ball placement?




